Bee is Mantis

CIMG2036

Oooh, pretty!

Praying mantis! And so well camouflaged in salvia!

Those were my first thoughts.

The WP photo prompt this week is fleeting…like beauty…life…thoughts…experience…

CIMG2039

and though I chose not to publish these photos previously because they disturb me and I didn’t want to disturb you,

CIMG2043

they perfectly illustrate fleeting as they catch the ephemeral beauty of nature

CIMG2044

and how living requires eating so these photos also illustrate how fleeting life is.

CIMG2068 - Version 2

The honey bee is caught,

CIMG2072

savored,

CIMG2078

beheaded

CIMG2081

and further savored…

CIMG2075

and I had to walk away from breathtaking wonder that shifted in a moment to revulsion though I recognize that the bee is the mantis and we are each both bee and mantis, and our moments as fleeting.

8 thoughts on “Bee is Mantis”

    1. Thank you so much, Joanne. I appreciate you taking time to read and also comment on my blog. Thanks too for inspiring a happy heart at my day’s start.

Leave a Reply

